There’s a lot to tell about #GIRLBOSS by Sofia Amoruso, yet I don’t want to say much so that I don’t spoil such a beautiful masterpiece.

Either you have already read the book or you haven’t, this post is for you as in the book there are a myriad of great passages that must be kept in mind, I’d love if I can learn them all by heart, so I bet this post is for me too 😀

This is not a review as much as it is quoting my favorite passages from the book, so that you can come back to them whenever you need motivation and inspiration. And if you have the chance to read the book, don’t even hesitate, I highly recommend to even read it at least twice a year.

Without much talking, let Sophia Amoruso talk instead:

“You shouldn’t idolize anyone. And I’m telling you again don’t idolize me. I don’t know shit. And neither do your parents. But if I can pull any of this off, so can you. Take that and run with it”

“I think that part of the reason Nasty Gal has been so successful is because my goals were never financial ones. I believed in what I was doing, and fortunately other people believed in it as well.”

“The first piece of advice I can give you is to learn to separate your money from your emotions as much as you can. Whether someone is asking you for money, you’re asking someone else, or you’re contemplating a significant purchase, approaching financial decisions as calmly and as rationally as possible will make everything a whole lot easier”

“I’m not talking about stuff like The Secret self-help book, which basically tells you to tape a picture of a car to the wall and then sit on the couch and wait for someone to drop it off in your driveway. I am talking about visualization that works when we actually get off our asses and do stuff. How totally crazy is that? Each time you make a good decision or do something nice or take care of yourself; each time you show up to work and work hard and do your best at everything you can do, you’re planting seeds for a life that you can only hope will grow beyond your wildest dreams.”

“The last thing the world needs is another boring person or another boring brand, so embrace all the things that make you different. Alter your clothes all you want, but don’t you dare alter your inner freak- she’s got your back as much as I do.”

“Surround yourself with people who are engaged, honest, and confident enough on their own quest to support you on yours. There’s no time for losers.”

“If you are working, you’re working hard, and if you’re not doing that, what are you doing? I also think you age a lot quicker if you can’t keep yourself busy and under the right, healthy dose of stress. Too much of anything obviously isn’t good, but as my dad always says : Overwhelmingly busy is a much better state to be in than overwhelmingly bored.”  PORTRAIT OF A #GIRLBOSS: Leandra Medine.

“You should get dressed for your life. I don’t care if the only place you have to go to is the police office: Get dressed, #GIRLBOSS, and let your freak flag fly.”

“Take care of the little things-even the little things that you hate- and treat them as promises to your own future. Soon you’ll see that fortune favors the bold who gets shit done”

“I’m giving you carte blanche to pick and choose from the advice outlined in this book. Hell, ignore it all if you want. But don’t ignore this: You create the world, blink by blink. It is entirely yours to discover and yours to create.”

“Regardless of what your dreams are, if you listen only to those around you, the chances of your dreams coming true are very small.”

“But, here’s the real shit: you can’t have it all, and nothing comes easy. You will make sacrifices and compromises, get let down and let other people down, fail and start over, break some hearts, take some names, and learn to pick up and continue when your own heart gets broken”

There are so many other salient passages but I can’t mention them all! Hope this post is such  a dose of inspiration for you as much as it is for me!

With love xx

4 thoughts on “#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso – review: Best Quotes

  1. Nice article , I’m reading this book right now , your article inspired me and let me feel excited to finish it 🙂 Thank you for sharing these beautiful quotes with us !

    Like

Leave a Reply

